Last 70 Days of 2013 – Day 48: Excuses will stop you. Keep off from them!

Last 70 Days of 2013 – Day 48: Excuses will stop you. Keep off from them!

 “Ninety-nine percent of the failures come from people who have the habit of making excuses.” – George Washington Carver
Have you heard or been involved in sentences like: The government has made very bad decisions, that’s why this country is failing, I do not have money to do the things I want to do, My spouse or partner doesn’t listen to me, that’s why our relationship is failing, My subordinates doesn’t know how to do their job, that’s why my project, division, community, or family is failing, My parents did not send me to school, that is why I cannot get a job or make a living….. and so on and so forth. Well, all these are excuses. They sound good, true and sincere but they are the reason why several millions are living far too below their potentials in life.
How many excuses did you give this year for failing to do the things that are within your ability and potential? How many excuses did you give for why things did not work the way they should? How many excuses did you give for being at the level you are right now? How many excuses did you give for not starting that project, business venture, relationship, etc? How many opportunities did you lose this year because of excuses? There is nothing that hinders a destiny, a life (no matter how gifted) than excuses. It is so painful that even those who know very well the extent of grace and power that they possess still give in to failure? Unfortunately, our excuses make us more incompetent and undependable to be trusted with potential and opportunities.
Sometimes, I see an opportunity or an opening and immediately someone comes into my mind. And I will feel like, “yeah, he/she will be able to maximize this.” So immediately I put through a call or send an email to say, hey, I just saw this opportunity and thought you should give it a go. And he/she goes “oh thanks, that’s thoughtful of you. I will really put in for this one this time.” Several weeks down the line, I try to get back to him/her (because he/she will not do so) to know how far he/she has gone it what I shared. And he goes again “oh, I am so sorry. I did not go on with the application again. I couldn’t get my CV ready on time.” And then, I feel like, I have waisted my time trying to help someone who does not want to help himself or herself. I am sure that some of us will relate clearly to either of both sides of the story….
What excuses do you have for failing and for not achieving your dreams and vision for this year. This should be a food for thought for you as we approach 2014. You cannot afford to live under the same roof with excuses, unless you want to fail again in 2014. But if you truly love to make it, one of the decisions you must take right now is to do away with every form of excuses. My Pastor will always say to leaders in the Church, “there is no excuse for failure.” And truly, there is none. Giving excuses is a total abdication from responsibility (responding to your ability). Sometimes, you feel within you that you have a good reason for not trying. But if you look around, you will see several people trying to succeed for the same reason you and not attempting at succeeding in life.  The truth I want you to know today is that your chances of making success will improve when you stop making excuses.
One author went further to write something that really made sense to me about excuses and I will like to share it with you. See what he said: Excuses are the tools of the incompetent that builds monuments of nothingness, and those who make frequent use of them will seldom excel in anything. An excuse is the meat of a lie that is covered by the skin of a reason. There are no good excuses. All an excuse does is help you miss the mark. If you are going to learn to hit the mark, enjoy your potential and fulfill your destiny, you will have to come to an agreement within yourself, that there are no good excuses. As long as you dignify yourself with an excuse, you will stop thinking creatively, stop reaching your goals, stop stretching, and stop growing.”
So what I intend to do today is to share with you what great people in the past thought of excuses and hope that as you read them, you will consider changing your mind about the next excuse you want to make for not going on with this article of stepping up to your call and destiny and making it happen in 2014. I hope they motivate you enough. Here they go!
1- The best job goes to the person who can get it done without passing the buck or coming back with excuses. G. M. Trevelyan 
2- Excuses are nails used to build the house of failure. Don Wilder
3- Don’t give in to excuses that can keep you from really living the best life God has for you. Joyce Meyer
4- Most people don’t have that willingness to break bad habits. They have a lot of excuses and they talk like victims. Carlos Santana 
-5 I do not believe in excuses. I believe in hard work as the prime solvent of life’s problems. James Cash Penney
6- He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else. Benjamin Franklin
7-  No one ever excused his way to success. Dave Del Dotto
8- Hold yourself responsible for a higher standard than anyone else expects of you. Never excuse yourself. Henry Ward Beecher
9-  The only thing standing between you and your goal is the bullshit story you keep telling yourself as to why you can’t achieve it. Jordan Belfort
10- I attribute my success to this. I never gave or took any excuse. Florence Nightingale
11- Do not make excuses, whether it’s your fault or not.  George S. Patton Jr.
12- Excuses are useless, results are priceless. Ziad K. Abdelnour
Remember that if it is important to you, you will find a way out. If not, you will find an excuse.
Prayer: You will not short-change your opportunities, success and destiny with excuses in 2014 in Jesus name, Amen!
ReadCommentShareFollow me on Facebook and Twitter.
Photo credits: Bankrate and Motivationblog.

Leave a Reply

